The SECAC Award for Outstanding Artistic Achievement

Awarded to recognize, encourage, and reward individuals who have been particularly successful in their creative work as demonstrated through regional, national or international exhibitions or presentations. The nominee's artist's statement should be included. Support materials should include a portfolio: web-based portfolios and digital submissions are acceptable.

Note: SECAC members may also apply for the SECAC Artist’s Fellowship, which carries a monetary prize. See the SECAC Awards page for information on the SECAC Artist’s Fellowship application process and deadline.

To nominate an individual for the SECAC Award for Outstanding Artistic Achievement, send a letter of nomination specifying the nominee and the intended award with the nominee’s CV to Sandra Reed at by February 6, 2017; all supporting materials are due by March 1, 2017 (upload or postmark). The nominee's SECAC membership status should be current at the time of nomination.

To nominate a group of collaborators, an organization, or an institution, the nominator should send a letter of nomination specifying the intended award nominee(s) and the intended award to Sandra Reed at by February 6, 2017; all supporting materials are due by March 1, 2017 (upload or postmark). In the case of a collaborating group or organization, at least one person must be a current SECAC member; a CV for this individual should accompany the nomination letter. In the case of an institution, the institution must be a current SECAC institutional member at the time of nomination.

Supporting materials should document sustained creative activity. Supporting materials should not exceed 10 pages; this limit excludes the nomination letter, CV, artist statement, and web-based or digital portfolio. These materials may be provided by either the nominator or the nominee, however, all materials are to be submitted together. Choose one of the two methods for submission of supporting materials.

(1)    by upload to Google Drive or Dropbox and shared with

Prepare documents as PDFs and images as JPEGs. JPEG files should be no larger than 2MB each, 1500 ppi on the longest side, and not exceed 20 in number, or

(2)   by mail, for awards including a book or catalogue, to Sandra Reed, Director, School of Art & Design, Marshall University, 927 Third Avenue, Huntington WV 25701.

Nominators will be notified of results on or about August 15, 2017. For questions, contact . 

  • 2016 - Kate Kretz, Montgomery College
  • 2015 - Matthew Kolodziej, University of Akron
  • 2013 - Virginia Derryberry, University of North Carolina Asheville
  • 2012 - Jane Nodine, University of South Carolina Upstate
  • 2009 - Michael Warrick, University of Arkansas at Little Rock
  • 2007 - Suzanne Jackson, Savannah College of Art and Design
  • 2006 - Richard Heipp, University of Florida
  • 2005 - Kyra Belan, Broward Community College
  • 2002 - Billy Lee, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
  • 2001 - Hanna Jubran, East Carolina University
  • 2000 - Anne Beidler, Agnes Scott College
  • 1996 - Virginia Scotchie, University of South Carolina